Whereas the COVID-19 Pandemic has resulted in all countries taking extraordinary measures to ensure the health of their populations, and

Whereas the limiting to essential traffic only at the border between the United States of America (US) and Canada has undoubtedly assisted in the containment of this disease, and

Whereas the medical community has stated that the possibility exists for another wave of infections, and

Whereas the Governors of US States have been empowered to begin easing restrictions, and

Whereas the conduct and travel of residents, and the operation of businesses in the US States bordering Canada and beyond, has a direct impact on the potential spread of the virus by virtue of those individuals entering Canada, and

Whereas Canadians and Americans entering each other's countries have the potential to return home after becoming infected;

Now therefore be it resolved,

That: The Corporation of the Town of Fort Erie hereby requests the Prime Minister of Canada to continue limitation of cross-border traffic to essential traffic only, and further

That: The restrictions remain in place until such time that it can be demonstrated that the flattening of the outbreak curve in the United States of America is on par with the progress we are seeing in Ontario, and further

That: Special attention be paid to the outbreak statistics concerning border States in the eventual decision making process to return cross-border travel to pre-pandemic normalcies, and further

That: A copy of this resolution be circulated to The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister, The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister, The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, Wayne Gates, MPP-Niagara Falls, Legislative Assembly of Ontario, Sam Oosterhoff, MPP-Niagara West-Glanbrook, Legislative Assembly of Ontario, Jennifer Stevens, MPP-St. Catharines, Jeff Burch, MPP-Niagara Centre, Dean Allison, MP-Niagara West, Chris Bittle, MP- St. Catharines, Tony Baldinelli, MP- Niagara Falls, Vance Badawey, MP, Niagara Centre, The Regional Municipality of Niagara, and all Niagara Area Local Municipalities, for their support.