Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Minister

777 Bay Street, 17th Floor Toronto ON M7A 2J3 Tel.: 416 585-7000

Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre

777, rue Bay, 17e étage Toronto ON M7A 2J3 Tél.: 416 585-7000



234-2020-120

January 20, 2020

Your Worship Mayor Marvin Junkin Town of Pelham mjunkin@pelham.ca

Dear Mayor Marvin Junkin,

Thank you for your municipality's joint submission to the Municipal Modernization Program and for your commitment to working together with partner municipalities to find smarter, more efficient ways to operate.

I am pleased to inform you that the Government of Ontario will provide funding of up to \$38,850.00 towards your joint project *Shared Services Review of Four Municipalities* for the cost of an independent third-party reviewer to deliver a final report by June 30, 2020.

The Municipal Modernization Program is an important part of our government's plan to help municipalities lower costs and improve services for local residents and businesses over the long term. The joint review project being undertaken by your municipality, together with partner municipalities, is an important step toward achieving our shared goal of efficient, effective, modern services that meet the evolving needs of our communities.

A transfer payment agreement is required to provide funding for this work. Ministry staff will be in touch with your staff shortly to finalize the transfer payment agreement and work through details of funding implementation. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact your Municipal Services Office, or the ministry at municipal.programs@ontario.ca.

I would like to offer my congratulations on this funding approval under the Municipal Modernization Program and extend my best wishes as we work together to modernize service delivery and focus spending on vital programs and services for Ontarians.

Sincerely,

Steve Clark Minister c. David Cribbs, Town of Pelham
Mayor Bill Steele, City of Port Colborne
Scott Luey, City of Port Colborne
Mayor Kevin Gibson, Township of Wainfleet
William Kolasa, Township of Wainfleet
Mayor Frank Campion, City of Welland
Gary Long, City of Welland